Four units of Engineers Australia Stage 2 Competencies

Are you an engineering professional with a burning desire to attain Chartership? If yes, you must become familiar with Engineers Australia Stage 2 competencies.

Are you an engineering professional with a burning desire to attain Chartership? If yes, you must become familiar with Engineers Australia Stage 2 competencies.

Being aware of this fact, we wrote this blog so that we can familiarize you with each of the four units of 16 Engineers Australia stage 2 competencies. However, before we tell you about that, we want you to know exactly what Stage 2 competency standard assessment is.

Stage 2 Competency standard assessment:

Competency Standard Stage 2 is a criterion for an applicant who wants to attain the Chartered Professional Engineer (CPEng) status. The Stage 2 Competency Standard will help you reflect your engineering skills, knowledge, application abilities, technical qualifications, principles and disciplines that you need to display to work individually or unaccompanied.

As the name suggests, a chartered professional has achieved the highest level of professional competencies by means of many years of hard work, skills and experience. So, for recognition as a Chartered Professional Engineer by Engineers Australia, your skills are tested in different types of areas of expertise.

Important parts of competencies:

As a part of Stage 2, competency standards are based on a commitment to service, technical proficiency, demonstrating value at work and an obligation to the community.

The competency standard stage 2 assessment is the beginning step towards attaining the CPEng status (Chartered member of Engineers Australia) and joining NER (the National Engineering Register). This membership comes with the responsibility of maintaining competency in your area of expertise.

As a professional engineer, you will be supposed to deliver various competencies as per your expertise. Let’s discuss the important part of the competencies:

  • Learn the needs of the consumers, stakeholders and society.
  • Aim to extend the growth of social, economic and environmental aspects over a lifetime of engineering products.
  • Cope with other professionals coming from various backgrounds.
  • Indicate that the engineering input is fully incorporated into the overall program or project.
  • Ensure that risks, prices and limits are completely understood about the results.
  • Interpret technical possibilities for industry, culture and government.
  • Make sure technological and non-technological aspects are adequately balanced.
  • Handle risk and maintain long-term viability.
  • Easily identify how emerging technologies apply to old ones.
  • Make sure that all aspects of a method, project or procedure are built on sound logic and basic values.

A professional engineer makes significant contributions to engineering science and the improvement of engineering practice. The stage 2 competency standards apply to all engineering practices that are split into four basic units.

  • Personal commitment
  • Value in the workplace
  • Obligation to the community
  • Technical proficiency

Elements of competencies:

The following are the 16 elements of the EA stage 2 competencies:

  1. Deal with ethical issues
  2. Practise competently
  3. Responsibility for engineering activities
  4. Develop safe and sustainable solutions
  5. Engage with the relevant community and stakeholders
  6. Identify, assess and manage risks
  7. Meet legal and regulatory requirements
  8. Communication
  9. Performance
  10. Taking Action
  11. Judgement
  12. Advanced engineering knowledge
  13. Local engineering knowledge
  14. Problem analysis
  15. Creativity and innovation
  16. Evaluation